Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New England College of Optometry Logo LIBRARY


What You Need to Know Before You Publish: Tools

  Where Should I Publish?

  • The Publish or Perish Tool can help you with things like identifying which journals to submit to, how to demonstrate your research impact and help make your case for tenure. It is a good tool for a researcher with few citations.
  • SJR or Scimago Journal & Country Rank ranks journals by things like who has cited the journal and how many citations the journal’s articles contain
Public Access Compliance
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) requires that researchers submit a copy of their manuscript to PubMed Central (PMC) if the research was federally funded.  Here is the NIH site with information on how to make a paper compliant and submit it to PMC. If the journal you submitted to is not listed here, you should follow the steps outlined here.

  What Are My Rights as an Author?

 

 

 

  • SHERPA/RoMEO looks at the publishing policies of different journals and whether they allow you to self-archive (i.e., put your paper into an institutional repository provided by your academic library)

 

  • SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) helps you build an addendum that you can use to modify your copyright transfer agreements with publishers


  How Can I Promote My Publications?

The two key features of your name in publications are consistency and unqiueness. Consistency ensures that people will find every article you have published and uniqueness will differentiate your name from others with similar names.

  • OCRID gives you a numeric identifier to distinguish your name from other researchers with similar names. ResearcherID provides a similar service.

 

  • MyBibliography is a digital bibliography that lists your PubMed publications. It is a required component of biosketches. You can create one using the MyNCBI account feature of PubMed. 

 Research Faculty Publications

We track the publications of full-time faculty identified as research faculty by the Business Office and/or listed in the research faculty section of the NECO website

 How Can I Track Other Faculty Members' Publications?

You can set up alerts in databases which will send you emails when a new item is published on your topic. Click the images below to be redirected to the right database.
 

  • Conduct a search
  • Click Create Alert under the search bar
  • Sign into your PubMed account and the alert will save


  • Search for a term
  • Click Create Alert on the left
  • Fill in the fields and click Create Alert on the next page

 

  • Click Register
  • Type in your name, email address and create a password (This account is different from your NECO Library account)
  • Click Continue
  • Perform a search
  • Click Set Alert
  • You will be prompted to log in
  • Choose the frequency of the alert
  • Click Set Alert


Library Search Engine

  • Search for your term(s) in the search box and hit enter
  • Click Create Alert underneath the search button
  • Click Sign In next to Email
  • If you don't have an account, click Create One Now (This account is different from your NECO account)
  • Fill in the fields and submit the form
  • Click To Continue Click Here
  • Log in
  • Go back to your search results and click Create Alert
  • Specify the frequency of the alert
  • Click Save Alert

 

  • Type in your search term and click Advanced Search
  • Click Save Search
  • Click continue
  • Click Register to create an account (This account is different from your NECO account)
  • Fill in the fields and submit the form
  • Verify your email address
  • Conduct your search again, log in and save search




Library Home | College Home | NECOnline | Google Drive | NECO Portal

©2020, New England College of Optometry Library
424 Beacon St., Boston, MA 02115
Call: 617-587-5589 | Email: library@neco.edu



SERVICES

Request Print

Off-Campus Access

Get Help from a Librarian

Data Management

Citing & Copyright

Find Grants

Avoid Predatory Publishers

Learn a Language

RESOURCES

Library Catalog

Databases

Journals

eBooks

DynaMed

UpToDate

Drug References

Images for Reuse

Patient Education

Course Reserves

Poster Resources

Subject Guides

Search Print Collection

Boards Resources

Master's Theses

Evidence-Based Optometry

Clinical Cases

Clinical Reasoning Tutorials

Visible Body 3D Anatomy (web)

Visible Body 3D Anatomy (mobile app)

TECHNOLOGY & SPACES

Book a Study Space

Print/Copy/Scan

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Library Mission

Library Staff

College Archives

OD Program InfoLit Plan

Contact Us

Hours